20120626-191915.jpg

She’s done! Finished my chair for Airdrie’s AIRdirondack Art Project and it’s now on display at McArthur’s Fine Furniture. It will be auctioned off at a gala on September 22 with all money going to support Creative Airdrie. I’m so honoured to have been asked to be one of this year’s artists. And I’m very pleased with how this turned out.

20120626-194014.jpg

The back piece and seat piece can be taken off and hung on the wall if preferred. The back piece includes raw edge appliqué and thread painting. It is bound in hand dyed silk ribbon. The bottom piece also has raw edge appliqué but isn’t quilted. It has a light layer of batting.

The pillow is simply pieced and straight line quilted.

20120626-193233.jpg

The arm piece is attached to the chair with cording run through grommets. It has mini quilts attached to act as pockets for a book and your sunglasses. The cup holder is detachable – it buttons on and has a separate handle that can be attached so you can take your drink with you. The cup holder itself is pieced and a few appliqué pieces are hand sewn on.

I’ve entitled my chair Iris / Isis to honour my wonderful Aunt Iris who recently passed away at the age of 94. She gave my love of all things fibre – and apparently a lot of my personality. She was no nonsense, outspoken and not afraid to tell it like it is. I’m perfectly ok with being compared to her; in fact, I wear it as a badge of honour.

